self discipline

“When do you write?  What is your discipline around blogging?”  a fellow blogger asked.

What a great question to answer.  I need to have a lot of discipline these days around blogging.  I edit my mother’s blog to get her entry ready for SOL and I like to write (at least!!!) once a week on One Sunflower, and I also want to play around on this blog.

But I need to be a reader of blogs too!  If I read, I need to comment – because even though that darling dashboard shows visitors, how will anyone know  their writing is valued-  not just peeked at-  if I don’t comment?  I think visiting a blog needs to be more like courteously trespassing. ” I loved tiptoeing around your house and your orchard…loved what you’ve done with the bathroom –and by the way, your apples are delicious.”

I enjoy the discipline of blog writing and, while I occasionally worry I’ve bitten off more than I can chew, I love what I’m seeing in my mom and in myself as blog writers.  When we get together on the weekend, she talks to me about her current blog topic ideas.  She is inspired by all kinds of conversations.

I love the challenge to be thinking about writing.  I edit my mom’s entries so that they’ll be understood by readers who aren’t family but I work hard to maintain her voice and stay true to her intention.  I try to write with some integrity to my teaching on my other blog and to purely play on this one.

Did you taste the apples?

About wakeupandwrite


9 responses to “self discipline

  • Linda Baie

    You’ve made it such a story of your loves–your mom & your home & writing–that I enjoyed hearing your thinking very much. Yes, I enjoyed the bite you offered, and think it’s very special that you & your mother are sharing this blogging thing.

  • C.B. Wentworth

    I can relate so much to your post. Every week, my mother and I get together to write our blog posts. Both of us write on very different topics, but its always inspiring to write withe someone else – especially someone who knows you so well. We swap wordpress tricks we’ve learned and enjoy a great cup of coffee. Who knew blogging could be so meaningful on so many levels. 🙂

  • Deb Day

    I understood exactly what you are thinking. I read a lot of blogs, but sometimes don’t take the time to comment. I’ve been making a conscious effort to respond to people, mostly because I know how much it means to me to have someone take the time to respond. You shared so much of your blogging life in this little snippet….I love that you do this with your mom! Happy Writing (and reading!)

  • Juliann@nurturing curiosity

    Isn’t it interesting how much more there is to this blog writing. I have found myself wanting to go deeper in my writing and my thinking too. I try very much to push away the responses that I sometimes get about blogging being “fun stuff”, much the same as those who says teaching preschool must be really fun.

  • grade4wizard

    Your apples are delicious.
    You shared your writing life. I liked this personal slice.
    I have found that writing the post is easier than writing the comments. Quite often it seems that others have already commented so much in beautiful and encouraging words that it’s hard to come up with the words. However, leaving a short comment is probably better than no comment at all.
    Terje

  • Nora

    I think it is wonderful that you and mom collaborate. I agree with your observation that blogging requires discipline. I, too, have a tendency to just read and not respond.

  • margie@courageouswonderings

    Your discipline is an inspiration for me. Now that I have my blog up, I love that my antennae are so tuned to topics and issues that I want to write about. Another synapse or two refiring.

  • Gretchen

    OMG, I love this entry SO much! (Can you tell? I am spending my lunch break catching up on SOL?)

  • margie@courageouswonderings

    You inspire me — and just when I really need it. My blog is up and yet I have not posted in OH so long. Where is my discipline? Under the bed with the never used keyboard and the dream of playing and singing each week?

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

