Want Ads

I applied for a different job a month ago – it has been a long process and I found out on Friday that I didn’t get the job.  I am lucky in that I love my current job, but of course I’m a bit disappointed.  Writing and creativity help me move forward…..

Lost:
One door,
opened to interesting possibilities,
last seen on Craigslist

Found:
Refrigerator freezer
one unopened pint of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream
claim soon or finders-keepers

NOTICE
To family and friends of vessel “Sea Worthy”
Keel damaged
Have taken on water
Repairs underway,
In harbor soon
No rescue needed.

Trade
one used juicer (makes great lemonade!)
for mixer and ingredients for chocolate chip cookies

Found
Magic kit containing:
Never ending container of “RESOLVE”
Heart-shaped, rose tinted glasses that cause wearer to have visions
Hat – with rabbits

Free
Life lines
Never ending supply

 


About wakeupandwrite


11 responses to “Want Ads

  • gigi2pnw

    I love this SO MUCH! (I would love to hear about the not-at-this-time new job.)

  • mardie

    I so enjoy the way you use metaphor, your creative image choices (Hat-with rabbits). You make your reader think, and the resulting connection is all the stronger for it.
    Beautiful poem.

  • grade4wizard

    What a clever idea and structure this writing has. I hope that you got the mixer and ingredients for the chocolate chip cookies. It helps when you look for another promising door to open.

  • Juliann

    I love the format of this slice! Sorry about the new job but I am a firm believer in doors closing for a reason. I am struggling with wanting and not wanting some change in life right now too. Thank goodness for writing!

  • Stacey

    Sorry you didn’t get the position. I hope the pint of B&J ice cream helped take away the sting of the news.

  • Linda Baie

    It’s just a wonderful way to show, not tell, a poem, yet prose! I’m sorry you lost the opportunity but glad you do like your current work. I especially love the “found” description with a never-ending supply of “Resolve”. Deep down inside we must dig for it, but it is often there. Best wishes for a new opportunity to be ‘found’.

  • Maureen Ingram

    This is lovely. Love the open and honest metaphor of the NOTICE section – Keel damaged, Have taken on water, Repairs underway, In harbor soon, No rescue needed.” This is your resolve talking! Thank you for sharing this!

  • Donna Smith

    Creative structure! Sure you don’t want to keep the lemonade maker? It could come in handy!

  • GirlGriot

    I like your style choice for this post and your good humor in the face of your disappointment. Thanks for sharing this with us!

  • karidyer

    LOVE this poem! I love your creativity, your metaphor, your humor. Hope a new door opens for you soon.

  • diana1litcoach

    Love, love, love your poem! I can so relate–especially to the stanza titled NOTICE. I’m glad that repairs are underway but I can’t help wondering what door might open next for you.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

