a student is a student no matter what the profession

I went to visit my 23-year-old son at the hospital today. (He is doing fine after his surgery, by the way.)  Having been born with spina bifida, and in and out of hospitals his entire life, he is used to medical professionals and those studying to be doctors and nurses. So yesterday, when the cute young nursing students stopped by his room and asked to use him as a practice patient in front of their instructor, Corbin agreed.

I happened to be there when they came in around dinner time. At first, their instructor thought they should come back after he had finished dinner and I was gone,  but Corbin was up for it and I didn’t mind so I slipped quietly to the side of the room to watch.

One of the young women had a check list which she reviewed silently as the older nurse prompted her.  The other young nurse was obviously farther along in the course work and knew a bit more about how to begin assessing a patient. They worked through the list slowly and we all chatted comfortably as they went along.  Corbin was definitely a patient patient! Their instructor noted that he was making this an easy task for them.

Having been a practicum student myself many long years ago, and being aware of the current influx of teaching interns working in our school this quarter, it was interesting for me to see how a nurse is taught and learns her profession.

A checklist, a buddy to partner with, willing participants and a supportive instructor – everything we all need to learn.

About wakeupandwrite


8 responses to “a student is a student no matter what the profession

  • writekimwrite

    What a great observation. I liked how you were able to analyse exactly what you were seeing and put into the practical terms of what we do. It also reminded me of when I was in the hospital and being a teacher naturally agreed to be practiced upon. I was so trying to be like Corbin a patient patient. After 2 unsuccessful (and painful) tries to get in an IV I wondered how long I should let them try. At that moment the teacher intervened (thankfully).

  • elsie

    Great observations on learning!The age and the occupation are not critical to the learning process, it’s the process.

  • Donna Smith

    Good connections here! It would have been fun to be an uncooperative patient though…just so they’d get THAT experience!

  • mardie

    Your son is to be commended on his patience. I’m glad to hear that he’s doing well after his surgery. I have a 23 year old too, and I’m thinking of you.

  • Lori

    I have a dear friend who called every time she came home from her practicum to tell me of the exciting things she got to do that day. I always agree to letting a student learn. I haven’t yet had a student teacher. Now that sounds scary!

  • Linda Baie

    Glad to hear that your son is better. Good observation of the connection in the learning as interns. In school it isn’t often they carry a check list, but maybe they should (ha). I think it was also great that you got to stay. Seemed like a low key situation for the newest learner.

  • Paul

    This is a great slice; an event that you draw larger significance out of with grace and ease. Your last paragraph applies to teaching, to writing, to…just about anything. I enjoyed reading your thoughtful reflection! 🙂

  • girlgriot

    “A checklist, a buddy to partner with, willing participants and a supportive instructor – everything we all need to learn.”

    Absolutely. I certainly had willing participants when I first entered the classroom. Wish I’d had all the rest, too!

    Glad Corbin’s surgery went well.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

