positive posting chases the blues

Something happened today that left me feeling a bit chafed.   I try to “assume good intent.”  I know it wasn’t on purpose that I was left out of a communication loop but because I was, feelings of unworthiness popped to the surface.

Crowing a bit on my other blog about a “goosebump” moment (as Ruth dubbed it) got me back on an even keel.

And now – because I did finally get a call at 7 tonight about my busy day tomorrow, I will head to bed.  But I’ll hum this song from my old Girl Scout camp days under my breath while I brush my teeth:

“I’m proud to be me but I also see,
you’re just as proud to be you.
We might look at things a bit differently
but lots of good people do.
It’s just human nature
so why should I hate ya
for being as human as I.
We’ll give as we give
and live and let live
and all get along if we try.
I’m proud to be me but I also see,
you’re just as proud to be you.”

About wakeupandwrite


15 responses to “positive posting chases the blues

  • Jama

    We all struggle with feelings of unworthiness, but if each of us holds the others up, love will triumph. I hope you have an easier day tomorrow.

    I’ve never heard that song, but the words are profound.

    Thanks for sharing your hurt and your resiliency.

  • Donna Smith

    Love your post. I had a reason to sing that song today too. Thank you for giving it to me! I needed that! Hope it helped you too.

  • Mandy Chock

    Great post. I have never heard of that Girl Scouts’ song, but it should be the mantra for teachers. 🙂 Thank you for sharing. I hope your week turns around!

  • Wanda Brown

    What is the name of that tune? I’d love to teach it to my kids. Glad writing helps you process and let go of whatever is nagging at you.

  • pamelahodges

    How we see ourselves is often based on what we think other people see.
    When I need to be encouraged, I use the line from Bob the Tomato in Veggie Tales,”God made you special, and he loves you very much. Thank you for sharing your Girl Scout song. I think I need to copy it and past it to the fridge.

  • Lisa H.

    I love your post – thank you for that great Girl Scout song!

  • caroline524

    Thank you for sharing the words to that song. I think it should hang in many classrooms.

  • Tara

    We’ll give as we give
    and live and let live
    and all get along if we try.

    That’s just awesome…and I’m glad you were able to summon up the tune to banish the blues.

  • Lauren

    I may also need to put that song somewhere in my house or car or desk to remind me… thanks for sharing!

  • Janet

    Oh, it is so hard to be human. I love the Girl Scout song, I think I might have been a Girl Scout long before you, so I don’t know that one. Your post reminded me of a quote, I don’t know who said it, but, “Shout praise, whisper criticism.” We tend to inflate all of the criticisms or slights and we minimize praise and compliments. Why do we do that? If you know the answer, I’d love to hear it.

  • showgem

    I never heard that Girl Scout song. It is a powerful tune to share with you kids both boys and girls.

  • jen

    Sometimes I think unintended hurtfulness hurts worse… you can’t really blame it on a mean person, and for whatever reason, our brains just don’t let it go and accept it as an unintentional mistake! What’s up with that? On the flip side, isn’t the power in positivity (especially writing it down/blogging it) unbelievable? I hope you slept well and woke up to a wonderfully bright new day! 🙂

  • centerslices105

    I can connect with your feeling left out of the loop; I felt like I could have written this post. Thank you for another idea for my SOLs.
    Diane

  • girlgriot

    I agree that the unintentional slights can have a more painful sting. We want the people we know who know us to be more aware of how their actions affect us. I’m glad you were able to shrug off your hurt by focusing on a positive thought. That’s a powerful skill I often forget to try cultivating.

  • Maureen Ingram

    How wonderful that this old Girl Scout song came wafting into your head! Amazing thing, the subconscious. I am not familiar with that poem, but it is a good reminder for all of us…we are who we are…. Hope whatever made you feel badly stopped being so “present.”

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

