of quotes and quests

I love this quote from Ruth: “One of the things that drives me as a writer (and a person) is questions. I’m constantly questioning, reflecting, and reconsidering. This is true for my writing life across genres and topics. Questions drive me. When questions become fierce wonderings, I enter a significant place as a writer.

Questions tickle my senses with the potential for new discoveries, new truths.

Some come like continents;

some come like silt.

Some bite and sting, burrowing into ones skin;

Some soothe and quiet a restless soul.

Some quests require sturdy packs

and dusty trails,

maps and gear and fortitude, years of searching,

Some appear overnight, glistening,

trembling,

leading the seeker

gently to new ground.

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “of quotes and quests

  • elsie

    “Some come like continents, some come like silt” creates a wonderful image for me. But then I reread and I love “Some bite and sting, burrowing into ones skin;” I can’t pick, your words are speaking to me today. So many great phrases in such a short poem. Thanks!

  • Paul

    Lovely imagery, great use of line breaks and control of cadence. The last sentence is an absolute gem! 🙂

  • Dana

    I agree with Elsie, I loved “Some bite and sting, burrowing into ones skin.” I could just picture how a question can do that to me.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

