Sabbath

It seems that each year I participate in this challenge, I learn about a new form of poetry.  Last year it was the triolet.  This year it is the villanelle.  Here is my first attempt – the form certainly provided the bones but I had to play a bit.  And since I seem to take a lot of pictures of resting places, I decided to use that as a theme for this challenging poetry form.

Come here, come sit, for you a chair.
Be still, my love, and take your ease,
we have time together, time to share.

Softly, like a prayer,
comes a gentle breeze;
come here, come sit, for you a chair.

Solitude and peace, so rare;
I cherish moments like these.
We have time together, time to share.

Together we are unaware
of twilight growing in the trees.
Come here , come sit, for you a chair

Let go of worry, let go of care,
close your eyes,  breathe.
We have time together, time to share.

And in the cooling of the air
all that was in the day slips free.
We have time together, time to share,
come here my love, come sit.

For you I’ve saved a chair.

About wakeupandwrite


15 responses to “Sabbath

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

