small offerings

I spent a lot of time writing an entry for my other blog tonight so I’m going to keep it short and simple here.

A couple of years ago I was headed to the coast with a friend and we stopped at a rest stop by the Columbia River.  Someone had placed a baby food jar of pansies by the sink.  It was so precious.

Last fall, I visited a rest room at a park nearer to my home and found this small offering.

Funny how such a sweet gift can bring a smile…..

and think about how I might leave an offering like that some day.

About wakeupandwrite


11 responses to “small offerings

  • Linda Baie

    You are right to capture this. I hope someone who does this reads your post. I never thought to do it, but now I will. Thanks, Amelia. Now I’m off to read your other writing!

  • writekimwrite

    I think it takes sensitivity to see the unexpected beauty found in unexpected places. I am going to be on the lookout. This is the kind of thing I love something given not knowing who will receive it. You have given me an idea of how to leave a trail of joy. Lovely.

  • fireflytrails

    What a sweet idea. I am glad you noticed, and glad you passed the idea along! And I like Kim’s thought about “leaving a trail of joy.” Something else to think about to make the world a little kinder place.

  • Theresa A

    Thanks for a reminder to stop and smell the roses and leave a trail of joy…beautiful!

  • Deb Day

    As with the others, I like this idea and am happy that you shared it. It made me smile to read about it, so I know it would have made me happy to find it. Kim’s idea of a “trail of joy” is perfect for this….

  • margaretsmn

    This is a great idea to pay it forward. My students are secretly posting poems in the school, an idea I got from Kevin, I think. I’ll remind them not to forget the bathroom.

  • djts

    That is a sweet picture! Around here someone is stacking small rocks here and there around the sides of roads or on ledges in places where you can see them if you are open to seeing them. Don’t know who or if it is now more than one person. But it just feels warm to know someone was there and was thoughtful.

  • girlgriot

    I love that you’ve found these little gifts (so glad you captured the second one with your camera!). I’ll have to start thinking of what little somethings I might leave for others to find …

  • pamelahodges

    Funny how such a sweet gift can bring a smile…

    Well, short and simple can be powerful. Thank you so much for this post and for the picture. I love the idea.

  • newtreemom

    A trail of joy…yes, I want to leave that as I go…

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

