words that are speaking to me

Sometimes I feel like a full bottle with a very narrow neck. The words are trying to get out at the same time air is trying to get in.

So today I’m sharing someone else’s words, someone who managed to get amazing somethings out of his bottle:

“My story is important not because it is mine…but because if I tell it anything like right, the chances are you will recognize that in many ways it is yours.  Maybe nothing is more important than that we keep track… of these stories of who we are and where we have come from and the people we have met along the way because it is precisely through these stories in all their particularity that God makes himself (herself) known to each of us most powerfully and personally…to lose track of our stories is to be profoundly impoverished not only humanly but spiritually.  I not only have my secrets, I am my secrets.  And you are yours.  Our secrets are human secrets, and our trusting each other enough to share them with each other has much to do with the secret of what it means to be human.”

Frederick Buechner

About wakeupandwrite


10 responses to “words that are speaking to me

  • writekimwrite

    Our stories are what connect us. “Sometimes I feel like a full bottle with a very narrow neck.” are your words that are speaking for me, too.

  • Laura LA

    Having that trust to tell our stories, and to truly hear the stories of others, is key. But not easy. I recognize that choked up feeling you describe; we become overwhelmed by the human story, wanting desperately to tell it, not always trusting ourselves to do so.
    Thank you for sharing these words.

  • Terje

    We can listen/read to what others say, linger with the thoughts and later, may be much later, our own version of the thoughts surface with the just right words for us. Your post leaves me thinking. Thank you.

  • Two years and finishing strong...

    Thank for these amazing words to hold on to. I look forward every week to connecting with others on this level. xo Happy Thanksgiving

  • Tammy

    Love this “I am my secrets” as much as I try not to be…
    Great piece.

  • gillis

    Thanks for this post. The more I try to pretend I don’t have the secrets I have, the more they show up all over me!

  • elsie

    “Maybe nothing is more important than that we keep track” really speaks to me. So many of my stories are lost because I didn’t keep track, until now. Great words to ponder.

  • Ruth Ayres

    Perfect. I’m lucky you shared this today. Although, luck probably had little to do with it. God bless you, my friend.
    Ruth

  • pamela hodges

    You are your secrets. Today you are a bottle trying to breath. The words are staying in. I pray for comfort for you, and for air to breath. I pray that you would become a bottle with a wider neck, room to breath in and words to get out. Thank you for sharing what is hard.

  • Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    Thank you, Amelia. I like that he speaks of the importance of capturing the stories, not forgetting. I am about to finish a book that is about violence and war, and there is one quote that seems so critical. A character speaks of the war & saving the world, & another responds that everyone must make a world that’s worth saving. I would say that’s a goal & telling stories of remembrance is part of that.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

