catching my breath

Today was one of those days.  It was one of those days where I got tripped up, fell and scraped both knees, bloodied my nose, bruised my heart.

I’m sure I’ll be up for walking (running?)  (probably not flying) tomorrow. A poem from the fall:

Revival

Fearfully I shooed the cat away,
picked up the bird,
and cupped it gently in my palms.
Grateful to feel its heart beat against my fingertips,
I felt it flinch before becoming still.
I paused to behold this tiny, perfect life
in my hands.

The bird held my gaze,
its beady eyes gleaming with fierce tenacity;
I could feel life thrum in its rib cage.
Clutching angular wings and claws tautly to its chest,
it was preciously and precariously
waiting for me to let it go.

About wakeupandwrite


2 responses to “catching my breath

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

