journey by candlelight

IMG_6347 I’ve never been invited as an “artist” to create a work of art on a particular topic.  Usually I choose the themes for my works and I voluntarily display stuff I’ve made when I’m pleased with how it turned out.   But last month I was approached along with other  artists from our church to create a piece for a contemplative service using passages from the Bible on Good Friday.  I want this project to be successful so I said yes.  Everything will be on display with candlelight only.  It is an interesting challenge – in more ways than one.

I started my piece this weekend and almost quit.  But then I turned off the lights, lit a candle and looked at it again.  Yup, the little glimpse gave me the courage to get back at it.

We always talk about “shedding light” on things to better see them but maybe it’s a good idea to occasionally look at things with a softer light.  What do we see in shadow that bright light washes out with its harshness?  How does the intensity of needing to peer closely at something help us discern a message more clearly?

I am eager to see the works of my artist friends although I am more than a bit nervous about my own contribution to the effort.  I’m thinking candlelight might be just  right  for this first journey to a new place for me.

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “journey by candlelight

  • LInda Baie (@LBaie)

    Such thoughtful insight, Amelia. I like the idea of ‘softer’ assessment, perhaps that is something to think about for many things? Best wishes for your work.

  • gigi2pnw

    You have been doing a lot of bold new ventures lately, Amelia. You are amazing. And so is this piece. Even on the computer screen it glows. Light in the darkness, strength out mystery. Softening the light. Really good insight and advice for all us. Stop judging ourselves so critically. We need to squint our eyes and press on into our potentials.

  • fireflytrails

    Such good insight – that all things do not need the surgical glaring light of brightness. Maybe a warm glow, one that causes us to look longer and more deeply, is a much better approach. I look forward to hearing more about this project, too!

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

