One Pilgrim’s Process – March SOL #12

sols_6

This past month has brought me some sweet recognition as a writer.  It began early in February when I reacted to a note from our district superintendent about his response to the Super Bowl commercial about farmers.  He commented about to district staff and thought there should be the same kind of commercial for teachers.  I wrote a piece titled “So God Made Teachers” modeled after Paul Harvey’s essay and my superintendent then sent it to everyone in the district and had it published in the district newspaper this month.  Employees from across the district have communicated their appreciation for my effort.

Then in late February, my church published a Lenten Devotional which included 2 of my poems and 5 of my photographs.  Again, numerous people have sought me out on Sunday to tell me how impressed they were with my work.

But this last Sunday produced a most tender response to my writing.  A gentleman came up to me and asked if he could use my poem, Sabbath, in a ceremony to renew his wedding vows with his wife.  Oh my, tears in my eyes.

That poem was inspired and birthed last year during this March challenge.  So I owe this complement to all of you, Slice of Lifers at Two Writing Teachers, THANKS!!

You can read my “So God Made Teachers” spin off here, my Sabbath poem here, and if you’d like me to send you a pdf of our Lenten Devotional, just send me your email.

Being a Pilgrim   by Mark Nepo

To journey without being changed
is to be a nomad.
To change without journeying
is to be a chameleon.
To journey and to be transformed
by the journey
is to be a pilgrim. 

About wakeupandwrite


One response to “One Pilgrim’s Process – March SOL #12

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

