One Pilgrim’s Process

sols_6

The entry I wanted to write yesterday….

I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to stick with this March Slice of Life challenge of writing everyday.  I decided to make it a “quest,”  as in: The journey is the destination.  I decided from the beginning to spend less time composing my entries than I have in year’s past and to just write about whatever was bubbling up in my heart on that day.

I feel like I fulfilled my mission.  I only missed 2 days – although the last day was a flop because I couldn’t access the internet.  As in the past, writing every day was indeed a challenge but I can state unequivocally that the experience is worth every extra minute it takes to participate.

It is interesting for me to compare my engagement in the daily writing experience from one year to the next.  My first year participating in the challenge was 3 years ago.  I only had one blog and I took a lot of time planning my entries and writing them each day.  The second year, I started this blog as a place to focus on writing only, not necessarily my experience as a teacher but I still spent a lot of time each day composing my entries.  This year, I couldn’t afford to do that because of other activities I’ve taken on – but I still thought about my writing each day.  I just don’t think I was as particular about topics and composition.

10

Cannon Beach, OR 4-1-2013

My slices have been snapshots of my thoughts over the month.  I wanted participation in this challenge to be like a road trip with stops at view points and places of interest, side journeys on dirt roads, breathless gasps at amazing vistas.  Maybe I didn’t get to many “vistas” but it was definitely a trip off the beaten track.

And I plan to be back for another road trip next year.

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “One Pilgrim’s Process

  • Gretchen Staebler

    And you did a marvelous job. I am so happy to know you and to continue to be inspired by you.

  • Katie #3

    It’s been fun to be with you every day, sister. I miss you.

  • luckygurl

    I love Canon Beach. Gorgeous shot. And nice reflection on how we can challenge ourselves differently according to our current commitments and experience… I didn’t let my inability to write every day discourage me from participating. Instead, I found energy in the flexibility I’d allowed myself from the beginning. (Though I probably didn’t read and comment on as many others’ posts as I wish I could have…). Have a lovely end of vacation, an easeful transition back to school, and see you on some Tuesdays!
    Marika

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

