cleaning house

I move about the house with feather duster in hand
for too long I have avoided these corners
cobwebs stretch into dark recesses
oh how tedious this is

now with damp cloth I move my hand
across shelves and counter tops
the scent of lemon lifts my mood
yet still I shuffle in slippers

back and forth with the mop
I kick the bucket across the floor
scrubbing furiously
pants rolled to the knee, bare feet on soapy tile

shelve books, fold clothes, shred mail
load dishwasher, wipe stove, scrub sinks,
hang fresh towels, shake rugs, store away boots,
vacuum

finally banishing the last of unfinished business
I am still
and become a non-anxious presence
in my own house

About wakeupandwrite


thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

