writers conference

So tell me, how is it going? 

Well I have some ideas but they are the really dense kind.

What do you mean by that?

The ideas that have come to me in the past few days have a lot of emotions attached to them and while I know what sparked them is significant and I want to pay attention by writing, I haven’t been able to sift and sort through all that has been caught up with the initial thought. “Trolling” through life over the past week has snagged a bunch of good stuff, I just need to haul it on board and figure out what to throw and what to keep.

Tell me about something you’ve caught in your net.

Well I went to a meeting on Sunday with a group of artists in our church.  Some of them are professional artists, some are like me – dabblers.  Both kinds of artists have produced work for our church and we ended up having an interesting discussion that I would like to process by writing about it.

Why is that important to you?

Because there were interesting perspectives shared.  Because I had an emotional response.  Because I want to figure out more about what I think and feel about the topic.

So start there, start with an outline with each of those statements and tease them out. 

Good idea, maybe I’ll find out what to keep and throw from my net.

About wakeupandwrite


5 responses to “writers conference

  • pamela hodges

    I am eager to find out what you want to keep and what you want to throw away. You are an artist. It doesn’t matter if you dabble or do it daily. Art is in the making, not in the frequency.
    Go look at yourself in the mirror and say, “I am an artist.”
    I can hardly wait to see what you will create next. 🙂
    xo
    Pamela

  • fireflytrails

    Love the comparison to trolling and keeping the good things in your net. Writing does help us process out thoughts, doesn’t it? Thanks for the good reminder!

  • elsie

    I love the conference you had with yourself. It is the thinking that needs to be the inner dialogue. Thanks for bringing that conversation out.

  • Maureen Ingram

    I love these lines – ” ‘Trolling’ through life over the past week has snagged a bunch of good stuff, I just need to haul it on board and figure out what to throw and what to keep.” I know this feeling. So, so glad that you are immersing yourself in this art of writing. You are not dabbling!!

  • Terje

    Fabulous idea to confer with yourself. Fascinating to read how you sort your thoughts. I wonder what great ideas you caught in your net.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

