ravel reveal

i’ve been knitting again
the garment builds in my lap
but there is something not quite right about it
i hold it around my body and look in the mirror
it is the ribbing
at the very beginning of the whole thing
that isn’t quite right

i know what to do
but it will be drastic
and require paying attention
and being careful not to lose any stitches
it will be slow and tedious work

i cut the ribbing with scissors
i pick up each stitch one by one
being careful to stay in one row
i put them on a new needle
and then stop

i’m still not sure how to make it right
it will require some thinking
and trial
and maybe error

but this time if i need to correct it
i can just unravel the knitting
and begin again

i now know
that ravel and unravel have the same definition
i now know
the never-used noun form of ravel
means tangle, cluster, knot

until i know how to finish my sweater
i’m going to knit baby booties
simple, mindless, garter stitch knitting
no tangles, clusters, knots

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “ravel reveal

  • writekimwrite

    “I know what to do
    but it will be drastic
    and require paying attention…”
    I know you are writing about knitting but these words remind me of times in my own life. Times when things tangle, cluster and knot. I enjoyed reading this on those two levels, knitting and life.

  • Haddon Musings

    Interesting post. I felt like your knitting was a metaphor for solving a life problem.

  • elsie

    I didn’t know ravel was a word. I just figured it was like understand, a word that happened to start with the two letters u, n.
    I, too, thought of the thread of life as I read this.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

