ordinary blessings

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

writing to a prompt:  ordinary blessings

I nod at the students we pass in the hall, greeting many of them by name.

“How do you know all their names?” my little companion asks me, taking my hand as more of them pass by us in extended clumps.

“Well, I was their teacher when they were younger.  I never forget a student’s name.  Now that you’re my student, I’ll never forget your name.”

And being the 4 year old he is, he responds with: “Why?”

And the best answer I can give is: “Because.  Because my students are important to me and greeting you by name is a way I can show you that every day.”

About wakeupandwrite


6 responses to “ordinary blessings

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

