5 pm

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hIt used to be I left work at 4 or 4:30, and by 5 pm I was having my second cup of coffee for the day in order to be a mommy through the night – and standing in front of the refrigerator wondering what to cook for dinner.

Now the first part of that equation is the same, even the second part about the coffee, but the last part, unh, unh.  I’m usually packing a snack, putting my Ipad and a notebook in my purse and heading off to something else.

Not every night – although it probably seems that way to my husband and my mom who checks in every so often.  The third week of the month is fairly open and I don’t ever have anything on Friday night.

I wonder what I will be saying about 5 pm in the (distant)  future when I’m no longer working?

writing to a prompt

About wakeupandwrite


2 responses to “5 pm

  • Patricia.

    Your 5pm will be what you make it in the future when you retire. I am well retired and just now finding I cannot figure out a time when I can get a day of “rest.” But, I love where I am in life and can make my “5pm” into anything and everything I want!!!

  • cmargocs

    Now you’ve made me curious about your night-time endeavors! Will you post a follow-up describing those?

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

