every time

Every time I hear that song I cry.
The introductory notes are enough
for the hollow to open inside me,
the heat to rise in my cheeks,
and tears to spill from my eyes.

And I am not a reluctant participant when it happens;
I love the music and will even turn the volume up if I can.
The feelings washing through me are cleansing
and I feel happy, even hopeful, after the experience.

On the flip side,
I cannot think of any predictable method
for inducing a spontaneous belly laugh.
So maybe the daily dose of a melancholy song
is a guaranteed path to everyday joy.

About wakeupandwrite


6 responses to “every time

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

