It’s not always about the fine motor skills, or the drawing, or even the possibility of adding writing………

I did my Teacher Modeled Write all about a Mother’s Day party and I knew some of my preschool students would be inspired to draw/write about parties they have been to or wish they had been to.

I visited tables while students were working and heard stories of cake and ice cream, dinosaur themes and pinatas.  When my students were finished and reading books, I sifted through the pictures to see the work.  I came across Andy’s page and wondered about his story.  The drawing on the page consisted of a large yellow shape – mostly rectangle and some other circles inside it and some lines.  I hadn’t visited his table, my aide had been working there, so I had no idea what story these yellow lines told.

I took the picture over to Andy and asked, “Will you tell me the story of your picture?  I’m sorry I didn’t get to hear from you while you were working.”

“It’s a pinata.  That’s candy.”

“Tell me about the party with the pinata.  How did you get the candy out?”

“I hit it with a big ‘tick.  A soft, big ‘tick.”

“Did you wear a blind fold?  (nod) Did you spin around? (big nod)  Tell me what happened next.”

And Andy told me his party story.  I did ask some leading questions but our time was short and I wanted him to talk before we had to get ready for lunch.  I’ll work with him tomorrow to get some memorable details into his picture so he can retell the story again at home.

It’s taken me awhile to learn the best workshop writing experience I can give to my little ones is a talking workshop.image

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “It’s not always about the fine motor skills, or the drawing, or even the possibility of adding writing………

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

