jury duty

I’ve never served on jury duty before.  I was called to it about 10 years ago but there were no cases and so my term expired without service.  But this time has been different.  I was dismissed from the current case but not until I went through an entire day yesterday of getting orientation and filling out a questionnaire and 6 hours today of discussion between the lawyers and the 80 others in the jury pool.

While I didn’t like the chit chat going on behind me that made it hard to hear, I did like witnessing and being a part of the process.  I’ve found out I don’t need to call in again until next Sunday so who knows, maybe my term will expire again without serving but I’m a lot more informed regardless of the outcome.

About wakeupandwrite


One response to “jury duty

  • kathleenjeannebritto

    Ah, jury duty. I’ve been sent home quickly before, but the last time I was almost called to the box. The only thing that prevented it was that I had a personal connection to a simmilar case, and I feared I couldn’t be impartial. I’m surprised that people were talking during the selection process. In my experience, the bailiff was all over the jury pool to make sure that didn’t happen.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

