have you seen her?

Preoccupied at the parking meter
calculating how many quarters I would need for 45 minutes of time,
I was distracted by a low purr from the street.

I glanced over and my heart did a little dance.

Black helmet,
white hip length jacket,
knee high boots,
red lace skirt.

My inner 20 year old, the one I haven’t heard from in awhile –
(since I took up a sensible rain coat, coin purse for parking meters,
and bag for library books,)

purred too.

If I was twenty-something now,
I’d want to be That Girl.

(have you seen your inner twenty-something recently?)

About wakeupandwrite


One response to “have you seen her?

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

