french press

every morning I put my water on to boil and do some stretching exercises

……..sometimes I put less water in the kettle

I pour the water over the grinds
and go to stretch again

Some mornings I am back at the counter too soon
and have to wait.
Other mornings my mind drifts,
the cat purrs against my outstretched arms and legs.

Either way,
it’s 5 minutes for the perfect cup of coffee.

I can’t really tell you
which kind of stretching makes the perfect day.

About wakeupandwrite


thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

