another way to get my fix

Sitting tonight with Minister of Christian Formation at our church reflecting on the second session of our work together as teachers for this year’s confirmation class, both of us remarked on how much we enjoy these young people.  For Sharry, it is a class she gets to lead every year, a perk of her job.  I volunteered this year at the last minute and so it is now a perk of my church participation.

I’ve always loved working with kids.  I babysat, worked as a camp counselor and went into teaching as a career. As a teacher I am around students at school in all sorts of ways – my own classroom, in the lunchroom, after school and summer programs. My own kids are grown and out of the house and I don’t have grandkids yet – so work and church are the ways I continue to get my “fix.”

Some time in the future, I will retire, later rather than sooner I’m afraid, and I will be glad to be away from the pressures of teaching.  But I never want to be too far away from working with young people. image

About wakeupandwrite


4 responses to “another way to get my fix

  • Bonnie K.

    I am sure that you will never live without kids in your life. What a wonderful thing to do even when you are working full time. Bravo!!!
    And if you have time and you haven’t sent me something yet, I would love to have a picture of a space that offers you writing inspiration and a bit of a caption along with it.
    I’m about to create a 2016 video for this month of marathon writing.
    send it to
    blkdrama@me.com
    Thanks,
    Bonnie

  • Stacey Shubitz

    Love the notion of getting your kid fix. It reminds me of how Frank Barrone on “Everyone Loves Raymond” used to breathe in the scent of his grandkids so he could inhale the Fountain of Youth.

  • Veronica

    That’s how I feel.. Right now, I’m thinking of going to a younger grade because my children are growing up and I miss then already.

    Once they’re on your life, it’s hard not having them around…

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

