5/25 May-be

Tomorrow will be one more full day of cleaning my classroom equipment and packing it away for the summer and I’ll probably have to come in Friday just to pack up my desk area – it is a mess all unto itself!

Now that the last week of activities with children and parents is behind me, it is easier to begin reflecting as I cram the last few items into already chock full cupboards and scrub surfaces I should have paid attention to months ago.  (How many boogers have been wiped on this little stuffed kitty?  How many grubby hands have pushed this school bus across a filthy floor!)  My aide, Lupe, and I chuckle at these thoughts but our memories are fresh enough to be pretty grossed out at the same time.

This morning I listened to Lupe talk to our principal during her evaluation about what she learned this year.  She has been with me two years now but this was the first year she took over my position when I was out of the classroom twice this year.  Her confidence has grown.  We also start thinking about what curriculum was especially successful and worth repeating and improving upon, and why we don’t feel that way about other things we did with the kids.

As usual, I have last little bits of fish to fry with building work – creative projects for the walls – yea! So a few more meetings over the next 2 weeks but otherwise, summer vacation begins in earnest this weekend.  Sisters coming to town, trips planned, dips in the lake to look forward to and books.  Yes, I finally get to get lost in a book and have nothing else I should be doing when that happens.

 

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “5/25 May-be

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

