message – July 7

Message in a bottle for July 7th – “having close friends”

Friendships have two sides – hers and mine – so here is my attempt at thinking about two of my friendships from two points of view.

Friend One

Too late I realize I’ve sent another late night text
asking about a walk or chat over coffee.
I think “late” is my secret middle name
because no matter what the time we set to meet,
I am never there on time.
She says it doesn’t matter,
and I believe her.
There is a timelessness to our friendship;
we’ve known each other for years,
and yet I don’t take our friendship for granted.
Always I am thankful to God for her presence in my life.

Friend Two

She is coming to my home for a visit.
There is never enough bounty in my cupboards
to demonstrate my gratitude for her friendship.
I clean my house fastidiously,
mostly to keep the chatter in my head
about not being enough
from mounting to a raucous din.
I plan and prepare meals,
hoping we will drink wine and chat
long into the night
for my heart longs to be full.

the other side

to Friend One

I block out whole afternoons for our get-togethers:
1) because I never know when she will actually show up and
2) because it is a gift to spend as much time as possible with this precious friend.
Our friendship grew slowly but steadily
and now she is one of my trusted few –
you know, the friends I count on one hand.
I don’t want to take her presence for granted,
and I’ve made it a priority to respond to those late night texts,
or send one of my own,
and always, always, make the time for us to meet.

to Friend Two

She shops and cooks and prepares food
and her table is blanketed with choices,
so many offerings.
The sheets on the guest bed have been dried in the sun,
there is the scent of lavender adrift in the room.
I don’t know how to calm the voices in her head
or communicate effectively
that all this abundance isn’t necessary;
being in her presence is more than enough
to fill my heart up to the brim.

 

About wakeupandwrite


thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

