message – July 9

Message in a bottle for July 9th – “parenting with wisdom and love”

I logged on to think about and create a response to this message about parenting and what do I find in my reader box but a blog post by a young mom in England who is the parent of a spina bifida daughter -she has written all about the things she thought she would never do as a mom – some of which she has held to but much she hasn’t.  Circumstances and reality get in the way of what we imagine for ourselves and our children.

As a parent of grown children and a teacher of preschool children I am and have been witness to all kinds of children. Young parents often ask my advice. The best advice I’ve ever received came from my daughter’s toddler teacher  (28 years ago!):   whatever is your child’s most challenging trait will be a gift when they are grown up,

and my own addition to that advice is this:  the trait  you enjoy  most about them is the one you will need to nurture and keep alive in them as they grow up and succumb to the world.

 

About wakeupandwrite


thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

