message – July 15

Message in a bottle for July 15th -“being a caring sibling”

I’m not much of a hiker
but I heard the view was worth the climb
so I headed out.
Midway to the top,
the trail was cut by the very stream
below the falls I was headed to see.

A shimmed log lay across the cut
and a crew was at work on the rope railings
but there was nothing in place
for me at this juncture in my hike.

I watched another hiker grit her teeth
and bravely walk across the log.
I knew that wasn’t going to work for me;
my imagination would get the best of me.
I sat straight down on the wet surface
and scooted across like a toddler.

The rest of the hike was not so bad after that
and when I returned to the log,
the railing was in place.
I was glad to be able to cross with some dignity this time
and to know it will be easier the next time
I pass this way.

About wakeupandwrite


thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

