Lost Boys

imageLast year the stories of my preschool class often revolved around one particular boy – I called him my Pirate – because he and I were often on a gang plank together, holding safe space for each other in that precipice between the ship, (our classroom) and a vast ocean, (the world out there.)

This year, my pirate’s little brother is in my class.  In fact, I have a lot of little brothers in my class and the Wendy in me is realizing this ship is occupied by Lost Boys this year; boys who need a captain, a Peter or a Wendy, but mostly, a mom.  One thing they don’t need is Never Never Land.

Of course I sometimes wish there was a Crocodile loose on this ship, might help me tame the natives.  It is enough to have his ticking clock constantly at my side. I have about 500 hours to be with these Boys and help them learn to stay in their prams. Going for a walk in a pram is way better than getting lost and finding yourself in a place with no future.

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “Lost Boys

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

