Think Write Thursday

I am so thankful for prompts – even if they aren’t a very good fit.  The prompt from Caroleknits on Think Write Thursday is to share about a movie I often quote from.  Well, if my husband was responding to this prompt he would definitely have a movie in mind and lots of quotes to reference.  But I’m not the media person in the family.  However, when I read this prompt I realized there are a few lines from movies that pop into my head often – or at least frequently enough I would call them favorite lines with special or significant meaning to me.  I’m sure you will recognize them:

“We’re not in Kansas any more.”  and “There’s no place like home.” from…..you guessed it – The Wizard of Oz.

The other quote I love and use is from Star Trek – don’t ask me which one or when but it is familiar: “Beam me up Scottie.”

What I think is interesting is how these quotes are related and speak to a common theme I – we – confront often: dealing with change and the unexpected. I don’t think I really realized how much I confront change on a daily basis because in reality, my life is pretty much the same day to day.  But the world is changing so fast; I am not living in the 1950’s times I was born into or the 60’s and 70’s I grew up in and yet I am adapting and accepting change.

Part of the reasons I can do that is because “there is no place like home” and… I have people who can beam me up when I need to escape!

About wakeupandwrite


2 responses to “Think Write Thursday

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

