3/1/17

imageI’ve been looking forward to this month long writing challenge almost as much as I’ve been worrying about it.  I don’t know how many years I’ve been participating, not all that many, but it has become an important practice for me. I think this year it is more important than ever because I haven’t been writing much at all.  I need this little kick-start to get the juices going again.

When I reflect on why writing has been hard this year the only reason making sense is that all my creative and thoughtful juices were being used up on my job.  Not only was I being tapped to think creatively about intervention with my at-risk preschoolers, but I was working hard to sustain belief in my ability to support them.  It was physically draining as well.  I started carrying my phone around to track my “steps.”  Most days I was averaging 7000 steps in 4 hours of contact time with the kids.

But two weeks ago I found a new job and although the guilt about leaving mid-year was awful and a week of snow days prevented a graceful transition, I am finding myself on fertile ground again.  I’m doing on-line training, shadowing my new colleagues to learn this early intervention work and I have a later start in the mornings.  So…..I’m trying to write.

It is a slow thing.  But I’m doing it.  I’ll see myself here tomorrow.

 

About wakeupandwrite


11 responses to “3/1/17

  • Margie

    I am taking a deep breath along with you. Hope you feel it.

  • Juliette

    Thanks for your words. This is my first time joining the challenge and I have been thinking about what I would write as I do not write often. I know I’ll enjoy writing as when I start I get many ideas and words come to me . I hope this is a start of a great journey for me too.

  • dogtrax

    Life is full of all sorts of turns. Too bad the weather didn’t help with a more smooth transition. Good luck with the new gig.
    Kevin

  • pugluv50

    Wishing you well in your new position.

  • ebgriffin

    I feel as you do about this challenge. I want to write, but I’m just not writing. I think this will be a great way for me to get those creative juices started up. I think writing will be a great way for you to think about your new journey too. Good luck!

  • Michelle @litlearningzone

    Welcome home to writing! This challenge will provide you with ups and downs, roadblocks and huge triumphs. Celebrate the journey of digging in and writing for ourselves. Your creative juices will start pumping and the words will just fall out … and you will be amazed at what they reveal.
    Happy writing!

  • fireflytrails

    I am right there with you my writing friend. Looking forward to the words that only you can write, and that always speak to me. Congratulations on your new job, too. Sounds perfect for you.

  • Denise Krebs

    Blessings to you in your new position. I am looking forward to kick starting my writing, as well. I love the last line, “I’ll see myself here tomorrow.” Beautiful! Me too.

    Warmly,
    Denise Krebs

    P.S. Thanks for commenting on my blog today too!

  • Tim Gels

    It’s nice to have a reason to get back to writing. Best wishes for your new position!

  • blkdrama

    A new job. How exciting! Good luck of course. Hope you share more.
    Bonnie

  • Anonymous

    Congratulations for your new job. I wish you the best 👍

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

