3/3/17

imageGood bye to my old desk

I remember choosing the desk at my old job site – it was a sturdy and heavy typical “teacher’s desk.” And since I’d never really had a desk at a work site before, it was a special moment to choose it and to bring it to life in my classroom and work.  A month ago, I had to start cleaning it out, readying it for a new occupant.  Here is my little poem, ode to my desk and letter to the teacher who replaced me:

To the brave occupant of my new desk:

I bequeath the common necessities of a teacher –
the pens, pencils, post-its, paperclips
white-out, dry erase pens, stick pins, magnets, stapler and tape.

You will also find in these drawers a collection of unexpected items
especially necessary to the early childhood teacher –

band aids, star stickers, hair brush, little girl’s hair clips, matchbox car, timer,
change for the pop machine and thank you cards for parents.

I left a few folders full of useful things –
like extra nametags, photos,
an inventory of classroom supplies and recent purchases.

but I’m taking the rock.

It is amber and red and I can’t remember where or when I found it
but it’s been here ever since and I think it will be necessary
in a drawer of my new desk.

my-desk

 

About wakeupandwrite


14 responses to “3/3/17

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

