3/6/17

The word “idle” has negative connotations.
So I’m not going to say I’m idle.
But the pace of my weekdays is so different now
it is hard not to feel like I’m lollygagging.

First of all,
I used to get up at 5:30 and on the road before 7.
Now (!) oh my goodness, I could sleep for hours past that –
but I don’t.
I still get up early – more like 6:30 now.

So,
leisurely mornings of coffee and kitten time,
stretching, knitting or….! writing.
And instead of packing my breakfast and eating it at work,
I sit….
and eat…..
in silence.

I’ve been leaving the house to arrive at 9,
but I don’t have enough assigned work to keep me busy,
to keep me from feeling that “i” word.

I looked up some synonyms and maybe
I should describe what I feel as “sauntering.”
I’m being given tasks I can do,
and trying to be open and aware to what I will be doing
when the time comes.

I set up my voice mail password and my file drawer.
I was loaned a better computer today
so I messed around learning Google sheets
and creating information about my “caseload.”

It won’t be long before
I’ll  be like the rest of my colleagues,
juggling plates,
wishing for a bit of calm.

But right now,
I’m unaccustomed to so much
stillness. image

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “3/6/17

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

