Daily Archives: 03/20/2012

notes to self

At first it was hard for me to sift through my day and figure out what to write about.  But one of my goals for writing a slice is that I highlight and pay attention to what brought me an opportunity for reflection in a day.  So when I finally sat down last night, and became still, this was a moment I remembered.

I hopped in the car and headed from my school to another for a meeting.  The radio was on and a familiar piece was playing.  At first I couldn’t remember why I knew this music so well.  Driving down the road my mind started its own course through time, asking and answering questions to track the source of connection.

Was it a piece my parents played?  Was it part of a music course in college?  Was it from a record Mike brought to our music collection when we married?

Ticking through each question the answer finally came to me.   I still didn’t know the name of the composition, but I remembered it was sung by Barbara Streisand on a cassette tape I had a long time ago.  It was my lullaby music as a brand new mom;  I often fell asleep with a small tape recorder under my pillow.

I came home tonight and looked up the radio station play list.  The piece is “Pavane” by Gabriel Faure.