left unsaid

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hThe first thing that popped into my head when I read this prompt was “excuses.”  I don’t know whether it was something told to me as I was growing up or an opinion I came to on my own but I think voicing excuses is a futile exercise.  It doesn’t help me to name them and it isn’t helpful to the listener to hear them.  Instead I should use the information learned from an experience to try something different. I don’t always succeed in leaving my excuses unsaid – especially in the company of close friends, but I try and wish to keep it a goal.

What should never be left unsaid is “I’m sorry” or “thank you.”

tomorrow’s prompt is “sweet light.”

About wakeupandwrite


3 responses to “left unsaid

  • Margaret Simon

    Making excuses is something we all do, but it often gets in the way. I try to think beyond the excuse to hear what is really going on. Especially with my students.

  • GirlGriot

    So true! I need to repeat this post to myself a few (dozen) times. My sister and I just had a conversation about how we were encouraged as children not to express “mushy” feelings — i.e. not to tell our family members we loved them. Definitely something that should never be left unsaid!

    Looking forward to catching up with you for the March challenge!

  • Dana Murphy

    For some reason, I’ve been noticing excuses a lot, lately. They seem to be on my radar, and now that they are, I notice a LOT of people give excuses a LOT of the time. Interesting that you wrote about them today.

thank you for reading, comment or email to wakeupandwrite@gmail.com

