Daily Archives: 03/30/2020

SOL 3-30-2020

I never thought a pandemic would be the way I would practice “retirement.”

First let me say that I am 63, have a job I love, and it is one I’m able to continue during this crisis.  But most of my friends are older than me and have retired and so I often get asked about my timeline.

Frankly, I have no plan to retire.  Maybe when I can’t sit down on the floor with children, or I lose my hearing and am unable to converse with parents, I might be forced to retire.  But right now, the pace of this job and the kind of work I do is okay with this somewhat older body and current level of energy.

However, I have wondered what my life will be like when I reduce my work or don’t work anymore.  This pandemic is teaching me that while I don’t mind sleeping in a bit more because I don’t have to do so much prep to get out of the house, I really miss going somewhere each day.  And while I enjoy the freedom of going to the kitchen for some more coffee or to make a little snack and using my own bathroom all day long, I’m realizing those little ups and downs are more a diversion than a necessity.

The pandemic is also helping me build a routine around going outside – often! and for longer bits of time than I used to.  I’ve been taking a long walk every day – usually by myself, not as a get-together time with a friend.  I kind of miss having a dog, but I am loving my jaunts in the neighborhood or to my favorite trails close by.